All Things Greek

After the Italian escapade, I jetted-off from Rome headed towards what was anticipated to be the highlight of the trip; Greece!

Greece was a place I have never been to before but have dreamt of for a long while. It’s beauty and stories hidden in their Greek Temples or what remains of em’. Growing up watching movies like Hercules and Percy Jackson, I have always been fond of the mythology that accompanied these sites. Thus, I was beyond eager to finally visit this country.

First stop: Athens. 

Athens 6

This capital of modern Greece is still home to many famous landmarks that have been around since 5,000 BCE. Upon my arrival, I was inundated with rich sights. Right opposite where I stayed was Zeus Temple and just to my right I could see the Acropolis of Athens in all its glory.  The excitement in me grew in volumes and I was ever-ready to put my bag down, head out and explore what this city had to offer. The culture, the landscape, the people, everything.

I took a map from the reception, marking out all the landmarks I wanted to see and planned my next 48 hours.

Athens 2

However, having arrived pretty late, I left the exploration for the next few days. Instead, I decided to have a chill night instead. I strolled around Plaka which was the old historical neighbourhood. Home to many little cafes and stores including Brettos Bar.

Athens 3

Athens 7

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next day soon arrived and off I was exploring as many historical sites as possible. The weather was amazing and that made each site look a 120% more beautiful.

Athens 8

Acropolis of Athens

Acropolis of Athens

Panathenaic Stadium

Panathenaic Stadium

Temple of Olympian Zeus

Temple of Olympian Zeus

Athens 10

After which, I visited Piraeus, which is a port city of Athens. With the skies and sea looking so blue, it was breath-taking.

Piraeus 4 Piraeus 3 Piraeus 2Athens 9

Athens is simply lovely with its rich culture and sights. Alongside, their food like gyros and greek yogurt. Overall, leaving a wonderful impression on me!

2 thoughts on “All Things Greek

Leave a Reply

