Lemon Drizzle Cake

It has been a good solid month since I last baked the Oreo Chocolate Chip Cookies. As I was scrolling through YouTube and clicking on random videos, I came across Tanya Burr’s Lemon Drizzle Cake collaboration video with Zoella. And immediately the eagerness to whip up something the kitchen came rushing in.

It is a Friday night and I had no plans, so I thought why not try brush up on some baking skills and bake a simple cake! I noted down the ingredients from the video and went home to check what was missing from the list that I needed to head down to the grocery store to get. When at home, I realised that the recipe was also in Love, Tanya book that just came in the mail a few days ago. With that, I headed down to the store.

The ingredients needed were:

  • 3 eggs
  • 170g of Self-Raising Flour
  • 170g of Caster Sugar
  • 170g of Butter
  • 1 tsp of Baking Powder
  • 110g of Icing Sugar
  • 2 lemons

When I got back, I started taking out all the equipment I needed and that included:

  • Measuring Cup
  • Measuring Spoons
  • Grater
  • Non-Stick Tray for Loaf
  • Mixer 
  • Mixing Bowl
  • Spatula

Lemon Drizzle Cake Equipment

After gathering all the ingredients and equipment I needed, everything else was pretty simple. I just mixed the butter, flour, eggs, caster sugar and lemon zest together, place them in the tray and pop it into the oven at 180° for 40 minutes. While the cake was baking in the oven, I mixed the icing sugar and the juice from the two lemons that I got the zest from and merely poured them on top of the cake when it was done and still hot. But before doing so, I used a knife to poke holes into the cake just so the drizzle is able to soak into the cake.

Viola! It’s done 🙂

I cut a slice of the cake and accompanied it with some sliced bananas and a cup of green tea and proceeded to putting on a film to enjoy it with. My kind of Friday nights!

Lemon Drizzle Cake 2

Lemon Drizzle Cake 3

Lemon Drizzle Cake 1

 

2 thoughts on “Lemon Drizzle Cake

Leave a Reply

