Welcoming 2016!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

2015 has been a rollercoaster ride but I’m excited for what 2016 has in store. I’m about to enter a new phase of my life, hit the big 2-0 and plenty of changes are coming my way.

I ushered in the New Year with my family and best friend, spending a night in at home with delicious home-cooked meal that tasted divine, a couple of drinks and good movies. This year was a much more laid-back New Year’s Eve celebration in comparison to the previous years like watching and getting hit by the fireworks in Berlin or getting soaked by the snow in Finland. Nonetheless, it was a great night.

A New Year is never complete without making some New Year Resolutions. But let’s be honest, there is a 90% chance these resolutions will be the same ones I am going to make in 2017. At least, I tried haha. I have never been one to make resolutions but this year, I thought I would give it a shot. As such, some of my new year resolutions are:

1. Read more books

Books

Growing up, I have never been an avid reader. In fact, my parents had to force a book into my hands. As I grew older, I started enjoying reading more. It was not until last year, I understood the beauty of reading. I read plenty of books last year. Those included The Maze Runner series (BEST. SERIES. EVER), Where Rainbows End, Paper Towns, The Girl On The Train and Hello Life! to name a few. This year, I intend to indulge in even more books. I just ordered a tons of books from Book Depository and I cannot wait for them to arrive!!

2. Take More Pictures/ Videos

EPL-7

As 2015 came to an end, I found a new interest in photography and videography. I started bringing my DSLR out more, especially on days when I did things a little out of my usual daily routines. Snapping anything and everything. After which, seeing what I could do with what I caught on camera. They are definitely not the most artistic shots or tumblr-worthy, but I like it all the same. It’s just a hobby and something I love to do. Hopefully with more practice I will get better at it. With the new Olympus Pen I got for Christmas, I am all the more fueled up and excited to take even more pictures and  videos.

3. Live in UK/ Australia

Having mentioned earlier, I am about to start University life soon. That means that I am currently in the midst of applying to schools both locally and abroad. To be honest, I have always wanted to study overseas. Hence, a hopeful New Year’s Resolutions is to either live in UK/ AustraliaThis is something you will not usually find on everyone’s resolution list, but fingers-crossed, I am able to venture beyond this Red Dot.

4. Pray more

FUEL Retreat 1

In all honesty, I have never been the most prayerful person. More often than not, I find myself having fallen asleep when I am supposed to say my prayer before bed or having rushed out of the house before having to say my morning prayer. Perhaps not many people can relate, but I definitely want to change that bad habit, this year.

5. Learn to cook a new dish, every week

ft. a photo of one of my all time favourite dish (we all know I would never be able to make this but just thought it looks extremely appetizing

We all know that clearly I did not make this, but hopefully it serves as motivation to learn how to cook! Haha!

In relation to resolution number 3, if I were to go overseas, I definitely need to learn how to cook. Can’t possibly be having take out every day and I would miss my home-cooked meals as well. As such, it is a resolution to learn a new dish each week. And if I manage to nail it, I will definitely be sharing about it here.

6. Adopt a healthier lifestyle

If any of you know me, I am the literal definition of a couch potato. Getting me to step out of the door to run is near impossible and the closest I get to exercising is doing Marcus Butler’s routine sets in my bedroom (though to be honest, those are some pretty tough work out as well). This is one resolution I make a mental note of each year but failing to ever succeed. Hopefully, by writing it down it may affect a change in outcome. Whether it is eating cleaner or visiting the gym more often or even just doing sets in my room, I definitely want to try to adopt this healthier lifestyle.

7. Do More Of What Makes Me Happy

Just doing more of the things I love, basically!

8. Travel To New Places

IMG_1194

If I could only choose to do one thing for a lifetime, it would be to travel. I’m so excited for the places I am going to visit, the people that I will meet and the food I will eat. There are so many places on my list I wish to see but at the top would be Italy & Greece.

So there you have it! Some of my New Year Resolutions. I am sure there will be more I want to add when I think of it, but these are a few right off the back of my head.

Starting off the year with some goals and clear mindsets, I am ready to take on 2016.

Leave a Reply

