Most Wonderful Time of the Year

It’s beginning to look like Christmas, everywhere you go~

It’s finally December! I have waited a good 11 months for this time of year to finally arrive once again. Unfortunately, this year there will be no cold winds, hot chocolate and sweaters to boost the Christmassy feels. Nonetheless, it is my favorite time of the year once again.

I am really glad to be able to enjoy a full December of Christmas feels because for the past few years exams always fell on the week before the 25th. As such, I was never really able to enjoy the anticipation leading up to Christmas.

Being me, I was just a tad bit excited for Christmas and having seen some of the beautiful decorations on Pinterest, I decided that buying a garland to decorate the front door rather than just hanging a wreath and ‘Merry Christmas’ bunting was necessary. So last sunday I went Christmas decorating shopping with my girls.

Our first stop: IKEA

Sadly, the selection they had was miserable and a disappointment.

Second stop: Robinsons

Wow was that a change, the selectioin was much wider and though a lot more pricer it was well worth-it. So I found two garlands there and bought 2m of yellow lights to wrap around the garlands so that it would look lovely when lited at night. In addition, as it was the Black Friday weekend, I received 20% and an additional 10% off my buys!! Whoohoo! What a saver.

IMG_4822.PNG

Public embarrassements

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Christmas Deco buys!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Shopping shopping

On most cases I would not buy much things when I head out by myself mainly because everything is expensive and I’m trying to save some money. But when in town on a Sunday and on the weekend of Black Friday, all the prices seemed irresistable. So after buying my christmas decorations, I walked around with Nat and decided to walk into an A&F store just to take a look since I had another 45mins or so before my 3 hours parking was expired (yes, I wanted to make sure I fully utilized my $5 parking fee). Turns out, we could not help our selves to splurge a little more on the discounted boyfriend jeans.

After a full day of shopping, I reached home, had a nice shower and lazed on the couch as I watched ThatcherJoe’s Innuendo Bingo & YouTuber Whisper whilst waiting for X Factor to start. But that wasn’t the end of the day. Once again, the excitment got the better of me and I insisted on putting up some of the decorations. Bad idea!!

The garlands as beautiful as they were, were extremely difficult to wire the lights around it especially since they were two separate garlands with only one 2m wire lights to wrap around them both. Thus began the tedious task of trial & error trying to get the lighting right and making sure that it sat on the door frame nicely with no wires sticking out and that every inch of the garland was covered in lights.

It took me a good 2 hours and by the time I was done, I had to take a shower again. But it was definitely worth the hardwork. The lightings looked beautiful and I couldn’t be happier!

So here are some pictures of the Hong’s home christmas decorating Part One!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Mini musical TV from Berlin

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Lighted Garlands

IMG_4821

Lighted Wreath

Countdown to Christmas: 22 days

Have a merry December! xxx

Leave a Reply

